DFB Women's Cup: VfL Wolfsburg wins the round of 16 at Bayern

Saturday, 16.11.2019
16:48 clock

VfL Wolfsburg moves into the quarter-finals of the DFB Cup. At Bayern Munich, the current leaders of the Bundesliga won 3: 1 (1: 1). Wolfsburg's goals came from Dominique Bloodworth (85th minute) and Ewa Pajor (21st and 90th + 5). Before that, Jovana Damnjanovic (45 ') had compensated the hosts. Wolfsburg last brought the DFB Cup five times in series, most recently in 2018 with a final victory on penalties against Munich.


Munich goalkeeper Laura Benkarth helped with the opening goal of the VfL: She misjudged her attempt to clear a long ball on the edge of the penalty area and was overlapped by Pajor. The ball bounced off the left post before Wolfsburg's top scorer beheaded the ball in the second attempt into the net.

Offensively, the Munich women then lacked any creativity. However, Jovana Damnjanovic took advantage of FCB's first shot on goal shortly before half-time: Linda Dallmann drew three opponents on the left, but managed to put the ball through Damnjanovic. The Serbian defeated keeper Hedvig Lindahl from close range (45.) and scored the equalizer.

  The decision fell on a corner shortly before the end: Bloodworth used a goalkeeper error by Benkarth in the second attempt to open the scoring. In injury time Bayern shifted everything again forward, which Pajor punished with a Kontor. The Polin only had to circle the ball into the empty goal.

After the duel in the knockout round of the last sixteen, the Munich women do not have to wait long for the next revenge. Already on 23.11. The two meet again in the Bundesliga, but then in Wolfsburg.

FC Bayern Munich – VfL Wolfsburg 1: 3 (1: 1) 0: 1 Pajor (21st) 1: 1 Damnjanovic (45.) 1: 2 Bloodworth (85.) 1: 3 Pajor (90. + 5) Munich: Benkarth – Dallmann (77. Schweers), Lohmann, Magull, Hendrich, Wenninger (88th Islacker), Laudehr, Simon, Skorvankova (67th Ilestedt), Beerenstyn – Damnjanovic Wolfsburg: Lindahl – Wedemeyer (62nd Doorsoun), Goeßling, Janssen – Rauch, Maritz, Gunnarsdottir, Engen, Popp – Pajor, Harder (61. Rolfö) Referee: Katrin Rafalski Yellow cards: Ilestedt / Goeßling, Popp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *